服务

服务

by admin

带领您的业务发展,成就不一样的明天

我们很了解您的需要,不仅提供法律咨询,我们力争在每一次交易或创建中为客户增加价值和支持。

合并和收购

我们为公众公司和私人公司提供资产及公司合并和收购的专业法律服务。

本着认真规划丶统筹协调的原则,我们定期向众多本地及国际企业客户提供有关跨境和跨司法管辖区的并购丶合营企业丶收购及出售丶及一般商业及企业管治事宜的法律建议。 此外,我们的业务还包括处理香港丶中国大陆及其他海外司法管辖区的公司尽职调查丶交易结构丶私募基金丶创投基金丶撤资丶直接投资丶合资企业安排丶及合约式合资企业(特别是中国的投资)丶拟定一般商业协定及文件,包括但不限於股东协议丶管理协议丶经销协议丶代理协议及董事会决议等。

在2018年,我们指导了深圳市投资控股有限公司向合和公路基建有限公司(香港联交所上市编号: 0737)控股股东合和实业有限公司(香港联交所上市编号:0054)收购合和公路基建有限公司 66.69%的股份及全面收购要约的项目,总代价约为148亿港元。

其他重大合并和收购包括指导千里眼控股有限公司(现称为讯智海国际控股有限公司)(香港联交所上市编号: 8051)於控股股东出售 50.07%的股份及全面收购要约的项目,总代价约为 4.6 亿港元。

另外,指导由北京弘卓资本管理有限公司管理的特定目的投资机构向信银(香港)投资有限公司收购Hundreds One Fund Limited Partnership共21.74% 的有限合夥权益, 总代价约为4亿港元。

商业及公司服务

我们为客户提供主板和创业板上市规则及监管合规事宜法律咨询方面拥有丰富经验。

就监管合规而言,我们的服务范围包括资产、股份、业务和公司的收购及处置、证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)的调查及查询、根据证券及期货条例 进行的须予公布的交易、以及涉及上市公司的文件、公告、通告、通知和纪律处分程序等。

我们指导了中集天达控股有限公司 (香港联交所上市编号:0445)以总代价合共约为1.7 亿人民币分別认购中集集团财务有限公司之1 0 . 5 4 % 股权、收购深圳中集汇杰供应链有限公司之10%股权以及同创供应链有限公司之5%股权。我们亦指导了中集天达控股有限公司(香港联交所上市编号:445)以总代价约为 3.8 亿人民币收购上海金盾特种车辆装备有限公司之100% 股权。

金融市场

我们代表保荐人丶包销商丶寻求上市的公司及上市公司进行配售丶供股丶大宗交易及其他有关资本和债权融资的活动。如指导正大金融投资有限公司 认购林达控股有限公司(股份代号:1041)之可换股债券,总金额为2.43亿港元。

我们亦协助客户公司於香港联合交易所的主板及创业板上市,并可於上市初期参与金融融资及重组,向香港联合交易所提交上市适宜性等问题的相关资料。同时,我们亦可协助保荐人及包销商进行首次公开招股,或安排销售新配股,并全程参与整个上市程序。为保荐人提供有关香港《上市规则》法律及法规的专业意见也为我们的专长。此外,我们亦可处理协助保荐人与监管机构之间的联络工作。

银行与融资

我们为银行和金融事务提供广泛的法律谘询服务,代表各方,包括但不限於银行丶金融机构丶企业及全球银行和金融参与者等。

我们为发行人丶包销商丶贷方和借方提供有关日常银行和金融的法律谘询方面拥有丰富经验。

我们为金融机构和企业对於复杂丶高价值的跨境银行和金融交易方面提供法律建议,并在全球资本市场的各种债券和股权交易方面拥有经验丰富,包括证券化丶债券发行丶担保债券丶可转换公司债券丶可交换债券丶应税债券丶免税债券丶点心债券丶结构性产品丶股票挂钩发行等。

大湾区无缝法律服务

在一带一路战略、大湾区和前海自贸区发展的背景下,中国境内外尤其是深港两地的跨境投资活动日益增加,也加大了对有深度的法律服务的需求。我们的团队拥有国际律师事务所的背景、广大的网络及深入的跨地域法律服务经验。透过我们在香港的专业业务以及与全广东最顶尖的律所,广东华商律师事务所的香港分所 – 广东华商(香港)律师事务所的联营,我们为客户提供无缝跨地域法律服务,尤其在粤港澳大湾区和前海自贸区,包括外商直接投资、外资并购、境外投资并购、境外融资、争议解决,以及其他商业法律服务。一站式的服务使我们的客户可以无忧地进行各类型商业投资活动。

广东华商律师事务所总部设在深圳,是国内最具规模的综合性律所之一,拥有超过800专业人员,广泛的客户群体包括世界五百强的大型跨国公司。身为“全国优秀律师事务所”,广东华商也是深圳唯一连续多次荣获“深圳知名品牌”的律所。其全面的服务和卓越的成绩与我们的业务和成就链接,造成良好紧密的合作关系。

多年来,本所亦已与在美国丶英国丶加拿大丶法国丶韩国丶英属维尔京群岛丶台湾丶澳门等国家或地区的律师事务所建立联系,并经常与不同法域的律师一起处理客户的案件。

首次代币发售

首次代币发售(ICO)是为以项目为基础的企业筹集资本的创新性方式。受惠於其监管制度丶税收制度丶强大的企业服务业以及靠近中国的加密货币市场的地缘优势,香港正在成为一个强大的ICO中心。林余律师事务所是在法律谘询 (例如是次代币销售会否被视为集体投资计划 (collective investment scheme))丶市场推广丶策略和技术谘询等各种问题上为香港 首个ICO提供谘询服务的律师事务所之一。我们与客户的ICO团队密切合作,确保以勤勉的态度完成ICO各个方面的工作。我们相信,我们对创新的热诚推使我们为客户及其ICO 增值。

我们向SONM ICO项目提供咨询,该ICO项目成功筹集了4200万美元,用於开发专为通用计算而设计的安全且具有成本效益的雾超级计算机,全世界的矿工都可以利用其闲置的计算机电源成为SONM网络的一部分,取代传统的集中式云服务,并提供一个通过雾租用计算机处理能力的平台。

我们还向Formosa Financial(FMF)ICO项目提供咨询,该公司於2018年5月成功筹集了约2300万美元,用於开发基於区块链的银行系统,该系统可提供更安全,更具成本效益和更高效能的系统来取代传统的银行业务行业。 FMF旨在提供首个完全许可的加密银行之一,该加密银行提供加密安全丶资金管理(包括贷款服务)和支付服务等。

证券型代币的发行(STO)

证券型代币的发行(STO)是把真实证券(例如股票、债券、基金、房地产、投资基金)代币化并放置在区块链上以创立投资要约。发行人能够开拓国际投资者市场、享受高成本效益以及降低未来流动性溢价。我们的法律团队于区块链领域上拥有丰富的经验,并且深入了解在此种未成熟的监管环境中开展业务的相关风险。作为此领域的先锋,我们享有能够为客人构建独特交易架构的盛誉。

我们提供全面的STO法律服务,包括符合监管机构准则的STO、对STO潜在的法律及监管合规性分析、判断及分析您的代币的特性、对您的商业企划书、白皮书、网站、新闻稿、营销和广告材料进行审核及建议、起草公开发行发布书、法律意见、反洗钱法律咨询及解决方案、STO后的监管合规、代币转售及二级市场(交易所)交易考虑、并提供最新监管发展的资料。

首次交易所发行 (IEO)

首次交易所发行 (IEO)是指把通证直接列在虚拟货币交易所上进行发售,省却了ICO中聘请承销商的步骤。程序上的简易化使发行人可以利用虚拟货币交易所的现有客户群,直接发行代币,加大了项目成功的机会率。因此,我们明白客户对于一个强大而可信的项目的需求。

我们为客户修订和审阅白皮书、提供法律和监管支持、提供信息科技和技术支持制定IEO网站,并为营销和分销与后期代币销售提供法律意见和服务,以本所丰富的虚拟货币经验从多方面满足客户所需。

加密货币

我们为加密货币交易所的成立和运营(包括集中式加密货币交易所和分散式加密货币交易所)提供全面和定制的法律服务。我们定期为本地和星加坡丶日本丶韩国丶及中国等国际加密货币交易所提供广泛的谘询服务,例如公司结构,运营问题,业务和法律风险,日常管理和一般税务建议等。我们目前为证券及期货事务监察委员会於2018年11月1日宣布的监管沙盒为各加密货币交易所提供意见。

本所就个人和机构客户提供加密货币相关谘询事宜拥有丰富经验,包括其交易,大宗交易,加密货币采矿及稳定货币。

在交易方面,我们协助客户进行交易结构的构建,加密货币的买卖,商业合同的实施以及相关商业风险的建议。我们提供托管服务,并为客户提供大手交易的建议和引导,以尽量减少相关风险。我们还为加密货币采矿业务的结构和相关税务方面提供专业的谘询服务。

牌照许可

由於金融科技/科技金融(Fintech/Techfin) 的新颖性,其业务可能面临法律和监管的不确定性。本所致力於利用我们在相关香港金融条例方面的专业知识和经验,通过法律和监管环境来引导客户 。我们提供在香港申请各种牌照的谘询服务,包括但不限於金钱服务经营者牌照(“MSO”)丶放债人牌照(“MLO”)及储值支付工具持牌人牌照(“SVF”)丶证券及期货事务监察委员会 (“证监会”) 第1类 (证券交易)丶第2类 (期货合约交易)丶第4类 (就证券提供意见)丶第5类 (就期货合约提供意見)丶第6类 (就机构融资提供意见)丶第9类 (提供资产管理)丶第10类 (提供信贷评级服务) 牌照及香港金融管理局(“金管局”) 虚拟银行牌照。我们还就客戶升級傳統的證監會牌照以包括虛擬資產的交易和管理丶以及有关证券丶期货丶反洗钱/反恐怖主义融资和数据隐私立法及规定的适用性提供建议。

智能合约

智能合约是软件形式的法律合约。智能合约提高了缔约的效率,简化了物流链,提供优良的合约安全水平。作为本所创新业务的一部分,我们十分荣幸能够为客户提供智能合约相关服务。我们与知名开发商合作,提供符合香港法律的可执行定制智能合约。我们亦协助客户在符合香港的法律情况下在其业务中实施云端技术系统。

科技初创企业

我们对科技行业有深刻的理解。我们的团队中有对科技方面经验丰富的律师,为科技初创企业提供法律意见,避免不必要的诉讼丶政府调查和其他问题。

我们也为科技初创企业提供广泛的谘询服务,包括公司架构丶初始运营问题丶雇佣问题丶天使募资及第一轮募资等。

基金设立

我们就各种法定货币和加密货币基金的设立丶结构和相关税务问题提供法律谘询。我们的专业法律服务使基金发起人丶顾问和投资者能够有效及创新性地设立基金和投资,提高融资灵活性和机会。

基金设立的类型包括创投基金丶私募基金丶组合型基金丶常青基金丶成长权益基金,以及从个人天使基金到机构基金等基金经理。

知识产权

我们为客户提供知识产权及技术管理策略方面的法律谘询,以帮助客户从知识产权中获取最大价值。

我们的团队在知识产权业务方面拥有丰富的经验,我们提供有关专利丶商标丶版权丶设计和区块炼等谘询服务,以及涵盖知识产权的起诉丶获取丶许可等。我们的团队不仅在处理有争议的知识产权工作方面经验丰富,为客户提供保护品牌组合的建议,以及在香港采取执法行动,我们的团队在商业知识产权事务方面也经验丰富,例如许可丶转让丶保密协议等。

此外,本所提供有关人工智能 (artificial intelligence) 相关事宜的法律建议,包括其知识产权丶转让丶管理等建议,以及根据香港的证券法和其他相关法律对AI技术的讨论,并协助客户在遵照香港的相关法律下将人工智能合法及安全地实施到业务中。

争议解决/仲裁

我们能帮助我们的客户处理从一般民事纠纷到复杂财务问题等各种争议事项。

我们为广泛的民事和商业诉讼事务提供法律服务和建议,涉及公司事务丶股东纠纷

金融服务丶投资争议丶银行业务丶合同纠纷和债务索偿等领域。法律服务包括提供审前谘询丶处理各级法院民事诉讼丶在法定机构和法庭进行听证和调查丶司法覆核丶清盘和破产程序丶国内和国际仲裁,以及裁决的执法行动。

我们的诉讼服务延伸到香港司法管辖区以外,并会协助处理各级别的海外案件,包括英国枢密院级别。目前,我们正在处理一个备受关注的公司股东争议案件,该争议已经持续了十多年,并已进入英国枢密院程序。

证监会调查

我们为个人和机构客户提供全面的帮助,帮助他们处理商业领域的各种监管和纪律问题。

我们就监管查询及调查向客户(特别是上市公司董事)提供意见,包括香港及海外监管机构,例如证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)丶香港金融管理局(“金管局”)及其他监管机构等的调查工作。

我们亦为内幕交易丶商业欺诈丶资产挪用丶价格操纵及商业或白领犯罪等调查和纠纷提供法律援助和解决方案。

个人私隐丶资料保护及安全

随着个人资料和数据成为是一种越来越有价值且风险更大的商业资产。紧贴着国际数据保护及个人私隐相关的法律 ,我们能帮助客户降低严重数据泄露的风险。

我们为客户提供精密的数据管理丶数据安全和个人资料(私隐)条例等法律建议。服务领域包括合规计划及政策丶当事人接取及反对权利丶数据安全丶资料外泄防护方案及数据泄露丶消费者保障规范丶全球数据传输管理丶游说及政府联络。

此外,欧盟《一般资料保护规范》(GDPR)已於2018年5月25日在整个欧盟生效。GDPR引入了重大变化和额外要求,对全球无论在哪个国家的企业均产生广泛影响 。 我们提供有关GDPR是否应用丶绘制丶评估及记录您的个人数据处理丶分析您的数据共享合同以及国际转移建议等的初步评估,协助您的企业为GDPR做好准备。

竞争法

企业在跟上快速发展的反垄断和竞争法方面面临新的风险和挑战。

我们的服务范围涵盖全面的竞争法和反垄断法相关事宜,包括合并及与其相关之批阅丶合某及其他反竞争协议丶滥用市场力量或市场操纵 丶市场或行业调查丶竞争诉讼以及反垄断诉讼。我们为各行各业的客户,不论行业大企业到新的市场挑战者,提供商业解决方案 。

一般商业事宜

我们为企业就不同的事宜,如业务组建(如合夥企业丶合资企业丶私人有限公司)丶股权丶公司丶资产或业务的买卖丶起草一般商业协议(例如股东协议丶雇佣合同丶特许协议丶技术合同等)以及就信托事宜提供谘询。

托管服务

我们为客户提供完整托管服务所需的专业服务,以确保安全丶公平及有效地完成加密货币交易。作为独立的第三方,我们将作出必要的安排以便在符合预定条件的情况下将资产托管并支付。

我们的托管服务范围包括相关文件审核,以及基於买方和卖方指示的详细活动和报告。

公司秘书

我们提供公司秘书服务,服务范围包括为在香港及其他司法管辖区注册成立的公司提供公司服务丶注册办事处丶常年法律顾问服务丶 提交周年申报表及其他文件丶以及托管服务。我们亦协助客户收购现成公司及在香港及其他司法管辖区成立公司。

翻译

我们提供法律翻译服务。我们在翻译各种法律文件方面拥有丰富的经验。我们的法律翻译专业人员均接受过法律翻译培训或在法律行业拥有丰富的工作经验,使我们能够在提供翻译工作时达到严格的高水平。

Services

Services

by admin

Legal innovation for you.

We have a strong client focus and provide more than just legal advice. We strive to add value and support to our clients in every transaction or venture they embark on.

Merger and Acquisitions (Private & Public)

We provide professional advisory services for both public and private companies in merging and acquiring assets and companies.

We emphasize the need of planning and efficiency, and we regularly advise our local and international corporate clients on legal matters relating to cross-border and cross-jurisdictional mergers and acquisitions, complex joint ventures, sale and purchase of assets, and corporate management. We also help to handle matters regarding sale and purchase of Hong Kong, Mainland China, and other foreign corporations, due diligence, planning and restructuring, private equity, venture capital, capital withdrawals, direct investment, joint venture arrangement, contractual joint venture (especially for PRC investment), drafting of various agreements including but not limited to shareholders’ agreement, management agreement, distribution agreement, agency agreement and board resolution.

We have recently advised Shenzhen Investment Holdings Co., Ltd., a state-owned enterprise of the People’s Republic of China, on its acquisition of 66.69% of the total number of issued shares in a Hong Kong listed company Hopewell Highway Infrastructure Limited (“HHIL”) (stock code: 737) from another Hong Kong listed conglomerate Hopewell Holdings Limited (stock code: 54), and the general offer extended to the other shareholders of HHIL for a total consideration of HK$14.8 billion.

Other significant M&A deals include advising TeleEye Holdings Limited (now known as CircuTech International Holdings Limited) (Stock Code: 8051) on the sale of 50.07% shares by the controlling shareholders and the mandatory general offer for acquisition of all the issued shares for a total consideration of HK$460 million, and advising an investment special purpose vehicle managed by Hundreds Capital, a Beijing based private equity firm with investments primarily in the PRC, on its acquisition of an aggregate of 21.74% of the total limited partnership interest in Hundreds One Fund Limited Partnership (“HOF”), representing a total capital contribution of US$50 million in HOF, from CNCB (Hong Kong) Investment Limited etc.

Corporate

We are experienced in advising clients on the Main Board and the Growth Enterprise Market (GEM) Listing Rules and regulatory compliance, and have rich experience in handling compliance matters for some of the very significant clients.

In relation to regulatory compliance, we provide service in areas which include acquisition and disposition of assets, shares, businesses and companies, investigation and enquiry by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), notifiable transactions under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO), documentation, notices, circulars, announcements, and disciplinary proceedings involving listed companies etc.

We have advised CIMC-TianDa Holdings Company Limited (“CIMC-TianDa”) (Stock code: 445) on its major and connected transactions in relation to a capital increase of CIMC Finance Company Ltd., for a consideration of approximately RMB150 million, acquisition of 10% equity interest in Shenzhen CIMC Huijie Supply Chain Co., Ltd for a consideration of RMB$10 million and acquisition of 5% of the equity interest in Shenzhen CIMC Tongchuang Supply Chain Co., Ltd for a consideration of RMB$10 million. In addition, we are advising CIMC-TianDa on its very substantial acquisition in relation to acquisition of 100% equity interest in Shanghai Jindun Special Vehicle Equipment Co., Ltd. for a consideration of RMB381.8 million, which is subject to the approval of the shareholders of CIMC-TianDa in its extraordinary general meeting.

Capital Markets (ECM & DCM)

We represent sponsors, underwriters, listed companies in placing, rights issue, block trade, and other capital and debt financing activities. We are assisting Charoen Pokphand Financial Investment Limited in its subscription of convertible bonds of Lamtex Holdings Ltd. (Stock code: 1041) in principal amount of HK$243 million.

We also assist clients in the listing of securities and derivative products of companies on the Main Board and the Growth Enterprise Market of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (“IPO”), handle pre-IPO matters such as preliminary financing and restructuring, as well as to liaise with the HKEX regarding the suitability for listing on behalf of the clients.Furthermore, we specialise in advising sponsors on Listing Rules and compliance matters, and to liaise with regulatory bodies on their behalf.

Banking & Finance 

We advise across a broad spectrum of legal banking and finance matters, acting for parties ranging from banks, finance providers, to corporate entities and other global banking and finance arena participants.

Our firm is experienced in providing legal advice on day-to-day banking and finance issues for issuers, underwriters, lenders and borrowers. We advise on complex high value and cross-border banking and finance transactions for financial institutions and corporations, and are experienced in a wide range of debt and equity transactions in the global capital markets, these include securitizations,debt issuances, covered, convertible, exchangeable, taxable and tax-exempt bonds, dim sum bonds, structured products, and equity-linked issuances etc.

Initial Coin Offerings

Initial Coin Offering, Token Sale or Coin sales (“ICO”) is an innovative new way of raising capital for project based ventures. Hong Kong is becoming a strong ICO hub due to its regulatory systems, business friendly tax system, robust corporate services industry and its proximity to the Chinese cryptocurrency market. L&Y was one of the law firms advising the very first public ICO in Hong Kong on a wide variety of issues including regulatory advisory (e.g. whether the token sale would be considered as a collective investment scheme (“CIS”)), marketing, strategy and technology advisory. L&Y works closely with the client’s team to ensure all aspects of the ICO are catered for in a diligent manner.  We believe that our passion for innovation motivates us to deliver considerable added value for our clients and their ICO projects.

We have advised on Project SONM’s ICO, an ICO that have successfully raised a total of US$42million for the development of a secure and cost-effective fog supercomputer designed for general-purpose computing whereby miners all over the world can leverage their idle computer power to become part of the SONM network, replacing the traditional centralized cloud services and providing a platform for rental of computer processing power through the fog.

We have also advised Formosa Financial (FMF) on its ICO, which successfully raised approximately US$23million in May 2018 for the purpose of developing a blockchain based banking system that could offer a more secured, cost effective and efficient system to replace the traditional banking industry. FMF aims to offer one of the first fully-licensed crypto-bank that provides services in crypto-security, treasury management (which includes lending services) and payment services.

Security Token Offering (STO)

Security token offering (STO) is the creation of investment offer where real securities (e.g. stocks, bonds, funds, real estate, investment fund) are tokenized and put on a blockchain. Issuers benefit by having more global investor base, enjoying large scale cost efficiency and lowering future liquidity premium. Our experienced blockchain lawyers understand the related risks of doing business in this uncertain regulatory landscape, and we have a reputation as thought leaders who structure unique transactions.

L&Y offers comprehensive STO legal services, which include regulators compliant STOs under optimal offering structures, analysis for potential legal and regulatory compliance for your token offering, determination and analysis of the characterization of your token, review and advise on your business plan, white paper, website, press releases, marketing and advertising materials, drafting of offering memorandum, legal opinions, KYC and AML legal advice and solutions, post-token offering regulatory compliance, token resale and secondary market (exchange) trading considerations, and providing updates regarding the latest regulatory developments.

Cryptocurrency/Blockchain

We offer comprehensive and customised legal services to cryptocurrency exchanges in the incorporation and operation of their cryptocurrency exchanges (including both centralised and decentralised exchanges). We have been regularly advising some of the most significant local and international cryptocurrency exchanges from Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, Korea and China on a wide range of matters, such as company structure, operational concerns, business and legal risks, day-to-day management, and general taxation advices. We currently advises various exchanges for the Regulatory Sandbox recently announced by the Securities and Futures Commission on 1 November 2018.

Our firm is experienced in advising both individual and institutional clients on a wide range of cryptocurrency related matters, ranging from trading, blocktrade, to crypto mining.

In relation to trading, we assist clients on the structuring of transactions, sale and purchase of cryptocurrency, implementation of commercial contracts, and advise on the related commercial risks. We provide escrow services, and advise and guide clients through blocktrade so as to minimize the associated risks. We also provide professional advisory services in the structuring of cryptocurrency mining business and the associated tax issues.

Licensing 

Due to the novel nature of Fintech/Techfin, a business may face legal and regulatory uncertainties. At L&Y we are committed to navigating our clients though the legal and regulatory landscape by leveraging our experience with the relevant Hong Kong financial regulations. We offer consultancy services for application for various licences in Hong Kong, including but not limited to the Money Services Operators Licence (“MSO”), the Money Lenders Licence (“MLO”), the Stored Value Facilities Licence (“SVF”), Securities and Futures Commission (“SFC”) Type 1 (dealing in securities), Type 2 (dealing in futures contracts), Type 4 (advising on securities), Type 5 (advising on futures contracts), Type 6 (advising on corporate finance), Type 9 (asset management) and Type 10 (providing credit rating services) license, and The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (“HKMA”) Virtual Bank License. We also advise clients on the applicability of the relevant securities, futures, anti-money laundering (“AML”)/ counter terrorism financing and data privacy legislation and regulations.

Smart Contracts

Smart contracts are software implementations of legal contracts.  They enhance the efficiency of the contracting process, a streamlined logistics chain and provide a superior level of security. As part of our commitment to innovation, L&Y is proud to offer smart contract legal services to our clients, we have partnered with well renowned developers to deliver legally enforceable customised smart contracts governed by Hong Kong law. We also assist clients in the implementation of cloud system in their businesses in compliance with personal data privacy laws in Hong Kong.

Tech Startups

Our firm has a solid understanding of the technology industry. We have experienced technology-focused lawyer in our firm, who can alert tech startup clients on areas that may potentially attract lawsuits, government investigations, and other problematic events that could send the startup into a downward spiral.

We also advise tech startups on a wide range of issues, ranging from company structure, initial operation issues, employment issues, to angel or series A round of fundraising.

Fund Formation

We advise on a broad range of fiat and cryptocurrency fund formation, its structure and associated tax issues. Our professional legal service allows fund sponsor, adviser and investor clients to structure funds and investments efficiently and creatively to maximize fund-raising flexibility and opportunities.

The types of fund formation include venture capital, private equity, fund of funds, evergreen, growth equity, and other fund managers from individual angel funds to institutional funds.

Intellectual Properties

At L&Y, we advise our clients on the intellectual properties and technology management strategies to assist our clients in deriving the maximum value from their intellectual property.  

Our team possesses extensive experience in intellectual property practice, we offer advisory services on patents, trademarks, copyrights, designs and blockchain etc., and other legal services covering the prosecution, acquisition, licensing and enforcement of intellectual property. Not only is our team experienced in handling contentious intellectual property works, in advising clients in protecting their brand portfolios, and in taking out enforcement actions in Hong Kong, our team is also experienced in commercial intellectual property matters such as the licensing, assignments, non-disclosure agreements.

We also provide legal advice on artificial intelligence (“AI”) related matters, including the intellectual property, assignment, management and transfer of AI, and the discussion of such technology in compliance with security laws and other related laws in Hong Kong, and also assist clients in the implementation of AI into businesses in a legal and secure manner.

Dispute Resolution/Arbitration 

Our firm is able to help our clients deal with various contentious matters from general civil dispute to complex financial issues.

We provide legal services and advice in a broad range of civil and commercial litigation matters covering areas such as corporate affairs, shareholder disputes, finance services, investment dispute, banking, breach of contract, and debt of recovery etc. Legal services include providing pre-litigation advice, handling civil proceedings in all levels of courts, hearings and enquiries before statutory bodies and tribunals, judicial reviews, winding-up and bankruptcy proceedings, domestic and international arbitration, and enforcement actions of judgments and awards.

Our litigation services also extend outside the Hong Kong jurisdiction, whereby we assist in foreign cases of all levels, including Privy Council level.We are currently working on a very high-profile shareholders’ dispute that has spanned through over a decade and has proceeded to the Privy Council case.

SFC Investigation

We offer comprehensive assistance to both individual and institutional clients in dealing with all kinds of regulatory and disciplinary issues in the commercial field.

We advise clients, in particular director of listed companies, on regulatory inquiries and investigations, including investigation work carried out by both Hong Kong and overseas regulators, for example the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC), the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) and other regulatory bodies.

We also provide legal assistance and solutions in relation to investigations and disputes arising from insider trading, commercial fraud, asset misappropriation, price rigging and business or white-collar crime.

Data Protection, Privacy & Security

Personal information and data is an increasingly valuable and risky business asset. L&Y is uniquely positioned to assist clients as they strive to keep up with the many international data protection and privacy laws and mitigate the risk of serious data breaches.

L&Y provides highly sophisticated data management, data security and privacy law advice to our clients. Our service areas include compliance programs and policies, data subject access and opposition rights, data security, data loss prevention and data breaches, consumer protection regulation, global data transfer management, lobbying and government liaison.

In addition, the new European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) has come into force throughout the European Union on May 25, 2018. The GDPR introduces significant changes and additional requirements, which have a wide-ranging impact on businesses around the world, irrespective of where they operate. L&Y can help your business prepare for the GDPR by providing preliminary assessment on whether the GDPR applies, mapping, assessing and documenting your processing of personal data, analysis of your data sharing contracts, and advice on international transfers.

Competition Matters

Companies face new risks and challenges in keeping up with the rapidly evolving antitrust and competition laws.

L&Y covers a comprehensive range of competition and antitrust issues including mergers and clearances, cartels and other anti-competitive agreements, abuse of dominance or market power, market or sector investigations, competition litigation, and antitrust litigation. We provide commercial solutions to clients across the spectrum, from industry incumbents to new market challengers.

General Commercial Matters

We offer comprehensive and tailor-made legal services to industrial and service sectors on a wide range of matters, including formation of business (e.g. partnerships, joint ventures, private limited companies), sale and acquisition of shares, companies, assets or businesses, drafting general commercial agreements (e.g. shareholders agreement, employment contract, license agreement, technology contract), and advising on trust matters.

Escrow Services

We provide clients with the professional expertise and resources required to deliver complete escrow services to assure the safe, fair and efficient completion of cryptocurrency transactions. Acting as an independent third party, we will make the necessary arrangements to hold assets in escrow and disburse them only when a predetermined condition is met.

Our range of escrow services include document review, and detailed activity and reporting for all parties based on buyer and seller instructions.

Company Secretary

L&Y offers company secretarial services, our services include provision of company services, registered office and annual retainer services, filing of annual returns and other documents for companies incorporated in Hong Kong and other jurisdictions, and nominee services. We also assist clients in the acquisition of shelf companies and incorporation of companies in Hong Kong and other jurisdictions.

Translation

L&Y also provides legal translation service. We have extensive experience in the translation of a wide variety of legal documents. Our legal translation professionals have either undergone legal translation training or have extensive working experience in the legal industry, enabling us to the rigorously high standards in the provision of translation work.